A Beautiful Day

My husband and I are so honored and excited to announce that our wedding has been featured on Rustic Wedding Chic!

If you are interested in having a look at it, click here.

It would be an understatement to say that it was the perfect day. I know that’s cliche. But hey, cliche’s become cliche’s for a reason, right?
I got to marry my high school sweetheart, the love of my life, and the entire day was filled with such love and joy. I am so thankful that my friends and family came from all over to share it with us. That, and God’s presence throughout the day, is what made it truly special.

The icing on top was getting to make it outwardly beautiful as well!

I thought I would share a few highlights for my DIYers out there, and then also my favorite parts from the wedding.

My vision for the day was to be a mix of both of our styles – elegant and rustic. So there was combinations of that seen everywhere throughout the day. Here, we lined the aisles with branches, adorned with baby’s breath in vintage glass soda bottles, fastened with twine.

The rustic, wooden ceremony trellis was hand built by my husband and his brothers. They did such a beautiful job that most of the guests thought it had come with the location. From it, we hung more baby’s breath in lightbulbs that my mother and I hollowed out. (A tedious, and slightly dangerous project, but completely worth it)

Our ceremony took place at Los Poblanos Inn & Cultural Center. It was absolutely breathtaking, with a lily pond, lavender fields, gardens, farm, and beautiful view of the mountains. I could honestly live there. My dress was the WTOO Mimi gown. The best part – it had pockets.

The bridesmaids dresses didn’t come out as we expected, and they were meant to be the same color, but I ended up loving how it looked. And I especially loved the flower girl’s big poofy dress. (Especially when she plopped onto the ground halfway through the ceremony)

My bouquet featured the locket that Phillip gave me for Christmas one year while we were dating. It is one of my most treasured possessions.

At the reception, we wanted to honor some of the relationships in our family that stood the test of time. So, here, we displayed the wedding photos of our parents, grandparents, and great grandparents – hoping that we will follow in their footsteps.

Guests were asked to highlight their favorite verses to share with us for our marriage.

For the guestbook, we designed three different cards for the guests to choose from to share their love with us – “we wish you…”, “love is…”, or “I knew it was forever when…”

These cards are now in a box on my coffee table which you can see here.

At each place setting we left a thank you note and a bunch of dried lavender as a favor. The lavender was grown at our ceremony location – Los Poblanos

The centerpieces were completely handmade as well. We wrapped wine bottles in twine, and decorated mason jars with twine and lace. Phillip and his brothers cut the wood slabs, and my bridesmaid, Charlotte, and I burned the numbers into the small slabs for each table.

One of my favorite aspects of Los Poblanos was their gorgeous driveway. The truck was Phillip’s great grandfather’s. His aunt had it fixed up to it’s original glory and was so kind to allow us to use it for our wedding.

So those are a few of the highlights, I could honestly go on all day, but I won’t.

Be sure to check out the feature of our wedding! And as a shameless plug for my design business, the invitations in the feature were designed by myself. I absolutely love designing wedding stationery, so if you, or anyone you know is interested, contact me and I would be happy to design some for you!

4 thoughts on “A Beautiful Day

  1. Pingback: こんなにお洒落♡ロープと小物を活用したお手軽コーディネート術 | folk

Leave a Reply

